How Many MLB Teams Are in California? The Answer is …

A. Coatess

Written by

A. Coatess



Sean Hunter

Wenzen-ball is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

how many mlb teams are in california

California is the baseball capital in the United States of America – there is no denying that. If you base it on figures, you will see many California big-leaguers contribute to the baseball industry in the country.

Know how many MLB teams are in California and some facts about them.

Read on to find out!


MLB Teams Are in California


There are five (5) MLB teams in California. These teams are Oakland Athletics, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Francisco Giants, San Diego Padres, and Los Angeles Angels.

Here is a brief background of the California MLB baseball teams:

1. Oakland Athletics

A winner of nine (9) World Series championships, this major league-competing team, established in Philadelphia in 1901 and based in Oakland, California, Oakland Athletics has since become an esteemed member of the American League (west division).

This professional-level team is also called the A’s or the White Elephants. John J. Fisher is the principal owner of the team. It has an elephant mascot, which happens to be the traditional symbol of the Republican party.

The team plays home games in the Oakland Coliseum.

2. Los Angeles Dodgers

The Los Angeles Dodgers are another professional team competing for the major leagues. Among the California baseball teams MLB, it currently holds a 40-man roster. This figure makes solid sense for a National League (West Division) member.

The Los Angeles Dodgers have had a long relationship with several ballparks.

These include:

  • Dodger Stadium: They have been using this since 1962.
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: They used this from 1958 to 1961.
  • Roosevelt Stadium: They used this for only a year (1956 to 1957).
  • Ebbets Field: They used this ballpark from 1913 to 1957 with other California MLB baseball teams.
  • Washington Park: They used this long ago, from 1898 to 1912.
  • Eastern Park: The Eastern Park has been a favorite among California major league baseball The LA Dodgers used this venue from 1891 to 1897.
  • And many others…

3. San Francisco Giants

The San Francisco Giants were created in 1883 and have since been based in San Francisco. Competing for the MLB, the San Francisco Giants currently take pride as a member of the National League (west division).

Among California MLB teams, they stand out with the highest number of wins, more than any other team in American baseball. Because of that, the Giants easily rank as one of the best MLB teams to exist today.

Experts attribute the team’s success to its extensive lineup of veteran positions. Unsurprisingly, the Giants set the most successful records ever seen in the National League.

Another factor that contributes to the team’s success is the genius of president Farhan Zaidi, specifically, his method of maximizing player performance, assets, and technique.

4. San Diego Padres

The San Diego Padres were created in 1969. Owned principally by Peter Seidler, the franchise claimed two NL Pennants but failed to win the World Series twice in 1984 and 1998.

The team competes for the MLB and is a part of the National League (west division). It started as an expansion team during the year of its founding.

The San Diego Padres went through many difficulties to get to its position now as a California major league baseball team. The first year of the team was so bad that it earned them the lowest record in Major League Baseball in the same year.

Bad luck seemed to push on in the following years, and the team would have transferred to Washington D.C. had Ray Kroc not acquired the franchise in 1974.

Apart from Kroc, two names forever catapulted the team to lasting success during the 1982 season: manager Dick Williams and outfielder Tony Gwynn.

The San Diego Padres have been hitting high scores since then!

5. Los Angeles Angels

It may be impossible to be a baseball fan in Los Angeles, California without knowing the Los Angeles Angels! If you look at a baseball teams map, you’ll find their Angel Stadium.

The Los Angeles Angels were established in 1961 and have been based in Anaheim since 1966. They currently settle in the metropolitan area of Los Angeles.

Arte and Carole Moreno principally own the team. President John Carpino and manager Joe Maddon maintain its franchise, which is one of the most successful among baseball California teams.

Like other baseball teams in California, the Los Angeles Angels have changed their name several times from Los Angeles Angels to California Angels, Anaheim Angels, and Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim before finally settling back to Los Angeles Angels.

The Los Angeles Angels hold several historical records relevant to the shaping of American baseball in California.


How many MLB teams are in California? The answer is five. These teams include the Oakland Athletics, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Francisco Giants, San Diego Padres, and the Los Angeles Angels.

The massive success earned by these teams through the years contributed a lot to carving California’s place in America’s baseball industry. Today, California enjoys its reputation as the baseball capital in America!

Interesting posts you may also like: 

5/5 - (2 votes)